Posted by: Craig | 16 June, 2007

Striving to be a Godly man(Part 2)…

So now finally lets look at Colossians 3:12-14
12Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, 13bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. 14And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.

So to add to the list from last time:

  • compassion
  • kindness
  • Humility
  • Meekness
  • Patience

So how am I striving? Well first off none of these things will be in my character except by the grace of God who is in sovereign control and who could harden my heart if he so wishes. Psalm 115:3:
3Our God is in the heavens;
he does all that he pleases.

So in my life the things that I am doing and have been blessed with by God are:

  • Prayer – This must permeate through everything
  • Study of the Word – Scripture is powerful it is Gods word
  • I am part of a small group (Homegroup) where we study scripture and theology but primarily we have total honesty and accountability to one another and a willingness to rebuke what is obviously not right
  • Also the group of friends around me are like family where again we have accountability and we teach each other what has been revealed to us in scripture and ultimately just seek God together
  • I am now living with my friend Derek who like me passionately desires God and through challenging each other and serving each other we are growing in our faith and character

This is not THE way to strive for Godliness it is just the way God is working in me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

