Posted by: Craig | 20 January, 2008

Coffee and Theology on… Scripture

Yesterday Cat Hare and I started a Coffee and Theology group to discuss theology by seeking out truth from the Bible, we hope this will encourage those involved to seek out truth in the bible beyond trusting what is told them by everyone else. I personally find theology stirs my heart to praise and worship of God and I hope that God awakens that passion in some of them too.

Anyways to start off we discussed Scripture and what it is to us and what the bible says it is, as how we view scripture can significantly influence how we use it as a basis for future discussions. I am not sure exactly where the others in the group stand on scripture but here is my stance (in summary) based on Scripture :

  • It is the Word of God – In that it should be treated as if God spoke the words to us personally. (2 Tim. 3:16, 2 Pet. 1:21, 1 Thes. 2:13)
  • It is Inerrant – That it is all truth 100%, I am the most likely cause of error in reading the word of God. (Prov. 30:5, Num. 23:19, Psalm 12:6, Matt. 24:35, John 17:17)
  • It is Authoritative – As I said above it is the very word of God so it has all of Gods authority with it. (Luke 24:25, In John 17:17 it should be noted that the it says “Your word is truth” and not just that it is true but truth itself)
  • It is Sufficient – In that it is all that God needs to tell us to come to salvation, trust and obey Him. (2 Tim. 3:15, 1 Peter 1:23, James 1:18)
  • It is Necessary – It is needed in our lives to know the Gospel, Know Gods will and to feed us spiritually. Prayer and the General Revelation of creation alone can not fulfill the above. (Deut 8.3, 1 Peter 2.2, Romans 10:13-17 shows the gospel needs to be heard therefore preached and today preachers must use the bible for truth)

These are the most important Characteristics of the Bible as I see it and without these as a foundation I can not pursue the truth of any other Theology as without these points the Word can be selectively chosen and said to be moral stories etc.

I know some people will think how can I make these claims about the Bible by using statements from the Bible as it results in a circular argument where we say it is Gods word because it claims to be but if it is not Gods word then it might not be true. Well I believe that conviction from the Holy Spirit is required alongside reading it as not only do I find that the elegance and consistency of the Bible persuasive but I have enough conviction by the Holy Spirit that the clear statements are true and it says clearly that it is all that I have said.

Well that is it for my brief summary so feel free to question me, and the biblicaly wise to correct me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

