Posted by: Craig | 26 January, 2008

Theological fears…

“As I often tell my students, theology is for doxology and devotion – that is, the praise of God and the practise of godliness. It should therefore be presented in a way that brings awareness of the divine presence. Theology is at its healthiest when it is consciously under the eye of the God of whom it speaks, and when it is singing to his glory.”

J.I.Packer

Over the last year that is what theology has become for me and it drives the other areas of my faith, as a result of it I have been transformed so much and want to proclaim God louder than ever to those around. Yet it seems that somewhere in the past the theological types got themselves a bad name to the average believer as it seems like people view theology as nit picking of almost irrelevant areas of the faith, and people seem to remember the person who use scripture to tell people they are wrong but seems to have no passion or missional life and just do not seem to love Jesus. I will not disagree that a lot of those people are like that which is sad, but not all people that love theology are like that.

I will be the first to admit that there are times that I have ended up in debates running in circles no longer glorifying God but I am only human. I hope that those around me can see that I still have a heart that wants to tell people about Christ and wants to praise him and passionately pursue a relationship with Him and I trust that I have good enough friends that will help me when I head down the intellectual only route and my prayer life starts dying. But I will say that theology causes me to see even more of who God is and how all of his characteristics are so much more than I thought and helps me to grasp his infiniteness a little more and all of those aspects cause me to worship and glorify him more.

Well this post was born out of this fear I have of tomorrows theology group not being doxology and I just hope we can reign it in whenever it gets off track and bring it back to God and that those there have their hearts stirred for God by it like me and Cat do. Maybe Cat and I can start to show people that have prejudices that theology can be God centered with prayer and worship at its heart.

Leave a Reply

Categories

