Posted by: Craig | 2 April, 2008

The Sun and the Stars…

These last two days I have woken up to see my favourite kind of weather ; bright and sunny but cool and crisp, I prefer it in the autumn with all the leaves around but its almost as good now. Sadly thought I have no time to really enjoy and savour it as I am in the lab well apart from today I had so many errands to run that I wasn’t and with the amount of work I have to do that is not good, but then on the upside the errands ment I got to walk around and be outside whilst it was nice, I jsut wish I could have sat down and read a book afor an hour.

Well failing to have time to enjoy the day I have managed to enjoy the night, last friday and tonight I went and did a little astronomy as about a month and a half ago I purchased a telescope, being the physicist that I am, but had not had a clear night until last friday and so I went out and with the help of my friend Chris we located saturn and was actually able to make out the rings around it! Although I knew what even small telescopes such as mine are capable of I was still amazed that I saw saturn like that with my very own eyes, even tonight when I went out with Cat and found saturn again I was still amazed by it. Also we managed to find Mars but no where near as exciting as it just looks like a large orange star that doesn’t twinkle but still to see it is cool! Hopefully I will see Jupiter someday as that is supposed to be easier than saturn and maybe see the moons on a very clear night , I am sure I will blog about my exciting adventures with my telescope.

When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,
what is man that you are mindful of him,
and the son of man that you care for him?” Psalm 8:3-4
Leave a Reply

Categories

