Posted by: Craig | 14 December, 2008

Is my faith reasonable or blind? (Part1)

Richard Dawkins defines faith as ‘the process of not thinking’

Dan Brown That is the definition of faith — acceptance of that which we imagine to be true, that which we cannot prove.’

Kahlil Gibran ‘Faith is an oasis in the heart which will never be reached by the caravan of thinking.’

Martin Luther King Jr ‘Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”

People have many views of what faith is, a dictionary defines it as :

  1. unquestioning belief that does not require proof or evidence
  2. unquestioning belief in God, religious tenets, etc.
  3. a religion or a system of religious beliefs
  4. anything believed
  5. complete trust, confidence, or reliance
  6. allegiance to some person or thing; loyalty

Well I question all the time, there are times I just don’t get how things are in the world with God, times I just feel like life would be so much better if I was not a Christian, times where I could just walk away from this life. The life where I live with Jesus as the King.

So why do I not just leave this behind? It is not just because I would have to change my plans for the future and the circles I live in as I have plenty of friends outside of Church and I could easily switch to my science and technical career ideas.

No, the reason I do not actually walk out on God, is because I have a great confidense that He exists, that the good news in the bible is true. Is this blind faith? is this ‘not-thinking’ as Dawkins puts it? If it was I would have lost ‘Faith’ a long time ago. In actual fact I have a trust in the fact that God exists and Jesus is King based on evidense that points to that. This is what I will discuss and show in part 2.


Leave a Reply

Categories

