Posted by: Craig | 3 February, 2009

Is your hope set on Him?

“If your hope is set on anything other than Him, how do you survive when it goes bad? How do you remain passionate and vibrant when no one comes or the baptismal waters are still for long stretches? How do you maintain doctrinal integrity or teach hard things if He isn’t the treasure?How do you worship when your wife gets sick or your son goes for a ride in an ambulance? If He is the goal, the treasure, the pursuit, then those things are fuel that presses you into His goodness and grace all that much more. I am not saying they are pleasant or enjoyable but only that if He is your goal you will find your faith sustained.” Matt Chandler

I see living with Christ as my treasure, my hope firmly on Him, as fundemental to the way I live. When I am living with my hope set on Him, not only does it keep me going through anything, as Matt talks about, but it has this massive ripple effect. I am convicted of sin, able to live in a more Godly manner and find Joy in serving those around me.

I don’t think that there is any battle more significant, and it is so easy to forget to fight it and just coast along. This is the epic battle in my life, to depend on Him not me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

