Posted by: Craig | 5 February, 2009

Am I flinging my life away?

“Where are the young men and women of this generation who will hold their lives cheap, and be faithful even unto death, who will lose their lives for Christ’s, flinging them away for love of him? Where are those who will live dangerously and be reckless in his service? Where are the men of prayer? Where are the men who count God’s Word of more importance to them than their daily food? Where are God’s men in this day of God’s power?”

Mo at Relay 2 gave a talk with part of this quote in and it really challenged me. The question I had was how am I going to fling my life away for Christ when I am in Prague? It is not like I am going to Africa to somewhere in the middle of no where, I am not likely to get seriously ill, or be attacked for being Christian. So how do I fling my life away where the only intrinsic struggle is that I don’t speak Czech (yet!). Even more of a challenge was pondering how to do this in Newcastle where I am now, where I have a great house, life is comfortable, I have all the shops selling anything I could possibily want.

I see flinging my life away in love of Christ as something that has to permeate all aspects of my life, in whatever situation I am in. It means that my finances will be God centered, the phrase ‘your money is where your heart is’ comes to mind, and my time will be used to glorify God through serving whoever is around me whatever I am doing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

